2/8/14

Black nerdy looking girl in Target

When I approached her I made a comment about how she was in her own little world listening to music and asked what she was listening to. She said the Glitch mob which I thought she said Lynch Mob which to me was an old 90’s rap group. I made my standard mid-west look assumption when I could have done something different.

E.G.

It’s always the sweet innocent ones you need to look out for. Nerd by day… throwing up gang signs at night repping your set.

She tells me her dad is from the midwest and that she’s from LA and goes back and forth from SD to LA. I could have thrown in a few teases here instead of going right into the question of “Is LA hugely different from San Diego?”

E.G.

Oh… so you probably just bring your laundry up to get it done?

Muling drugs.

Oh… so you just go back and forth? You pretty much just live on the freeway.

I felt like we vibed a but I never moved into investing her. I didn’t get her to open up about herself. She talks about how she travels for work, is an engineer, and into reading books like science fiction, fantasy, no twilight crap.  Once she talks about books I make a tease but I should have gone into what type of books she’s into.

Asian girl outside of Nordstrom Rack (Martina)

Right off the bat my assumption to get the conversation is off. I go into my mid-west speal when she doesn’t even really look like that. She has the typical southern california look to her.

Oh… so you’ve got this typical so cal look to you. Dressed up but still sort of dressed down. I bet you love to wear scarfs in 80 degree heat.

She talks about how she likes ugg boots and only has a couple of scarfs. I could have talked about how she’s probably into fashion.

I go into what she’s doing today and she mentions how she’s shopping. I make a tease about uggs then I literally go blank in the head. She says it’s ok… so I can see she’s somewhat interested. To recover I made a comment about how her nails match her iphone and if she’s has case to match all her different nail colors?

“No I can’t wear a lot of polish for work”

We get into the topic of work, she’ works in a hospital and biolab. She wants to be a doctor.

This is where I make a mistake to try and invest her into the conversation more. I could have asked what type of doctor she wants to be. How she picked that specific field. To become a doctor is super hard you must have a great work ethic and dedication. There are lots of points here where I could have led the conversation where she opened up more about herself.

Right now I need to work on investing the girls more. I feel like I’ve attracted them and got them into the vibing stage. I just need to move them forward now. I need to pay attention to little bits of bait they drop so I can get them to open up about themselves more.

Leave a Reply

